Surgeries, pills, shakes, and traditional weight-loss.

Standard

I have wanted to write this blog for a long time. I’ve wrote and rewrote it multiple times. These are my personal thought on different types of dieting. 

Lately when I tell people I’ve lost 80lbs in 8 months they ask what surgery I had or what am I taking to lose all the weight. Then when I tell them diet and exercise they don’t believe me. I am not putting down any of these methods of weight loss because for some they do work then for others like me they dont. 

If you’ve been with my blog since the beginning you know I started out in a very bad place. I was the heaviest I have ever been. I have always been overweight but this was a new high for me. I have tried everything in the book besides surgery.Nothing has ever worked. I couldn’t even exercise for 10 minutes without feeling like I was going to die.

I took a brand of meal replacement shakes for awhile. I lost maybe 15 pounds on them. They eventually got too expensive to keep ordering every two weeks. Needless to say I stopped taking them and gained the weight back plus some. I was more miserable then I was before the shakes. 

Next I signed up to sell weight-loss pills for a popular brand. I took them everyday religiously like I was supposed to. I never lost a single pound while taking them. Even getting the discount for selling I was still paying over $100 a month for something that did not work. I also felt bad because I was telling people how great these products were and to me at least they were not worth it. I have also tried the cheap weight-loss pills you can get at the store. Once again never worked. After taking and selling these weight-loss pills it led me to depression. I felt like I was never going to stop gaining which caused me to stress eat that lead to more depression. It was a never ending cycle that I could never get out of.  

Next up is surgery. I have thought about some kind of weight-loss surgery a lot through out my life. It was a quick fix or that’s what I always thought. I remember my mom calling a doctor in high school about weight loss surgery. I asked her to because I was tired of the relentless fat jokes and mooing I would hear in the halls every day for at least 6 years. She told the doctors I was severely overweight which I was. My mom has always made me feel beautiful and looks past my weight like any parent would. Hearing her say that for the first time my heart broke. I was denied surgery. I remember after that call happened I looked in the mirror and just wished I could cut all my fat off. That was a very dark moment for me. I never want to feel like that ever again. 

Last is traditional weight-loss. Calorie counting has always been a struggle for me. I used to emotionally eat. Stress, depression, anger food was always the answer. I couldn’t control myself. There would be junk food in the house and very unhealthy meals. I would always be starving which made me sad that led me to eat even more. I think the longest I have ever  calorie counted was two days. I never lost any weight this way either. I was to a point where I didn’t care anymore. I used to  just lay in bed all day to keep myself from eating which didn’t work. It’s very sad to look back and think about where I was and the thoughts that crossed my mind. 

Last March I was miserable. I hated my body more then I ever have before. I felt disgusting. I was scrolling through facebook and one of my friends was talking about how she lost 70 pounds. I looked up what she was doing. I thought I would never be able to do a low carb diet. I said what everyone says when hearing about this diet,  ” I love bread and pasta too much.” A couple days later I weighed myself and cried because of the number I saw. The next day I started this blog and a low carb diet. I haven’t looked back since. I have had tough moments in this diet but it’s all worth it. I can exercise now. I can fit into clothes I haven’t been able to wear since high school!

I just wanted to write this to show there is something out there that will work for you if you have a lot of weight to lose. I have had very dark thoughts because of my weight. I know there are people out there that are like that too. My advice is don’t give up!  There is something that will work.  Try everything possible and you will get there. Thank you for reading! 

Leave a Reply

